• 1

We Are 'Presbyterian' in Church Government

The spiritual leaders of the Presbyterian Church are called 'ministers' (who are particularly responsible for preaching) and 'elders' (who join with the ministers in exercising pastoral care and oversight in the congregations and courts of the church). These words are English equivalents of the Greek word 'presbyter'. Elders are elected by members of our congregations from among themselves, being those whom the members believe are spiritually qualified to lead and care for them.

Each congregation looks after its own affairs under the general guidance and oversight of the presbytery, a gathering of ministers and elders from the several congregations in the local area.

The General Assembly of each state provides leadership in wider areas of the church's work such as social services, chaplaincy work in the defence forces, hospitals and other institutions, training of ministers, mission and evangelism, and Christian education.

The General Assembly of Australia deals with matters of doctrine, overall standards of training of ministers, receiving ministers from other churches and the church's mission to the world.

Presbytery of Bass

Presbytery Meets: Second Tuesday of February, April, June, August, October & December.
Moderator: Rev Ian McKendrick
Presbytery Clerk: Michelle Fraser

Contact Address
Email the Clerk

Presbytery of Derwent

Presbytery Meets: First Tuesday of February, April, June, August, October &  December.
Moderator: Mr David Leitch
Presbytery Clerk: Mr Jacob Tuit

Contact Address

c/- 188 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania,  7000
Phone : (03) 6223 7213
Email the Clerk